The Province of Noord-Holland is one of the twelve provinces that make up the Netherlands, in economic facts and figures the most vital part of the Dutch economy. It is the home to 48 municipalities, 2,6 million inhabitants, 188,000 national and 2,800 international businesses, two universities, a European top-5 airport (Schiphol), three multi-disciplinary sea harbors, many well-known touristic attractions and a rich cultural life.