Tunku Dato’ Ahmad Burhanuddin or fondly referred to as Tab, a Malaysian, aged 55, has held senior leadership & managerial positions over his career in which the initial 25 years were in the financial sector and the previous 7 years were in leisure and tourism industry. He has extensive working experience over various organisational disciplines.
Tab is an accountant by qualification and is a fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (FCCA) and a member of the Institute of Malaysian Accountants, and has served in various roles in several organizations. He has served as Executive Director of CIMB Bank, The Financial Controller (CFO) of Commerce Asset Holdings (now CIMB Berhad), ED of Commerce Asset Fund Managers, Group Chief Internal Auditor of the Commerce Group and chaired various committees in CIMB including being the Chairman of the Building Committee for the construction of Menara CIMB Bank and had under his direct purview the Bank’s International Branches, the Group Customer Care and Management Support Division and The Corporate Client Solutions which covered group’s relationships with Government and Multinational Corporations.
Tab until recently, was the Group MD and CEO of Themed Attractions Resorts & Hotels – owners and managers of Legoland Resort Malaysia, The Datai Langkawi, Kidzania KL & Singapore, and Puteri Habour in Iskandar Puteri. More significantly, he was managing the development of a mega project in Desaru Johor – valued at RM5.0 B and creating jobs and business opportunities for more than 10,000 people. Leading a team of more than 2000 employees, many of whom he interacts with personally several times in a year. They know him in person and not just through the corporate news letters and circulars.
He was elected as the President of the Malaysian Association of Amusement Themeparks & Family Attractions (MAATFA) in 2013 for a two-year term. On 4 June 2016, he was elected as the President of The Malay College Old Boys’ Association, continuing the legacy of his father who was the Past President and the Life President of the Association.