He was the Secretary General Ministry of Higher Education, Malaysia since July 2015 – August 2016 and the Secretary General II, Ministry of Education Malaysia (June 2013 – July 2015), the fifth Vice-Chancellor of University Technology Malaysia (October 2008 – May 2013) and the first recipient of the prestigious Merdeka Award for the category of Outstanding Scholastics Achievement in 2009. He also has initiated UTM transformation program to be research technical university.